Milestones and Idiomatic Mondays

Last night, something remarkable happened: at the stroke of midnight, my time in Germany reached its half-way point.  149 days gone, 149 to go.  I feel sort of obligated to reflect back in some meaningful way… but I’ve been keeping this blog precisely so I wouldn’t have to do that.  So instead…

I’m going to take this moment to introduce a few “featurettes” to Denglish: first, Idiomatic Mondays (I thought, very briefly, of calling them “Idiomanic Mondays,” but soon decided that inducing those groans just wasn’t worth the effort), in which I introduce a weekly German idiom/proverb/saying because nothing’s funnier than a direct translation of an idiom from a foreign language; and second, some yet-to-be-named Wednesday night recipe (all I can think of are strained alliterative titles like “Wednesday Whistle Wettin'” and “Hump Day Hash” which I like because it sounds vaguely dirty), because Beth and I have begun to cook together once a week because we’re both beginning to tire of eating rice alone in our rooms, night after night.  So, thought I might throw the recipes we try your way.  Sorry boys, they’ll be vegetarian.

So, to kick things off, a proverb that bridges the two, and which I like because my brother used to have a novelty tee with this phrase printed on it, it’s just that clever:

Man ist, was man isst.
(Man is what he eats.)

The funny thing here, though, is that the conjugated form to “to eat” (essen) is “isst” and the conjugated form of “to be” (sein) is “ist“, which, conveniently enough, sound identical… the joke, of course, is that when spoken, this proverb is simultaneously “Man is what he is” and “Man is what he eats.”  Out-punned, English language.

 

If this phrase held, I would look a little less "fresh-from-the-garden-y," and a little more Nutella-y.

6 responses to “Milestones and Idiomatic Mondays

  1. Here’s a vegan recipe from The Vegan Table that is smooth and creamy and delicious. You’re a veggie? A vegan or not so much? If you drink cow’s milk, you can use that, of course, instead of soy or almond. Hugs and congratulations on reaching the downhill slide of your Germanic adventure. Andrea

    In a soup pot, saute one onion, coarsely chopped, and two chopped cloves garlic in 3 Tablespoons water for about 5 minutes. Add 1/2 teaspoon turmeric, 1/2 teaspoon ginger, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon cardamom and 1/8 teaspoon cayenne and stir to mix well. Add 1 can pumpkin puree, 2 cups vegetable stock, 2 Tablespoons maple syrup and juice from 1/2 lemon to pot. Simmer for 15 minutes and then remove from heat, add 2 cups non dairy milk (I used almond) and blend (blender or immersion blender). Reheat, not boiling, for about 5 minutes. Serve and let eaters add salt to their taste.

  2. Andrea, that sounds lovely and so… aromatic! I am definitely filing this recipe away. I’m not vegetarian, but Beth is, and I’m trying to eat considerably less meat (no small feat in Germany).

  3. I’m digging the featurette idea, Lor. Maybe I’ll come up with one or two of my own–that way, I might update once in a while. Turns out I’m not as self-motivated as my resume likes to pretend.

  4. i’m excited about your new regulars – i’ve tried a couple myself and it’s fun 🙂 aka it makes me feel like i have an audience waiting on bated breath like it’s thursday at 7:59 and they are tuning in to nbc for the newest “the office.” but really, it’s just me rambling about a stupid show i watch or mediocre recipe i made. eh… a girl can dream.
    i love your blog so much. that sounded really intense.

    • I love your blog too (you’ll notice a certain little link on my home page)… and I actually do look forward to your Tune in Tuesdays, so there. They’re the only time I ever care about Queen Latifah.

      Except when she was in Chicago.

  5. Bernard Neumeier

    So – is Kyle a pizza?

Leave a Reply

