I Sing a Song of Love Downloaded

So, at this point, I’m basically just a Bella, waiting for her Edward (eighteen days! What!) (if Joe ever finds out he’s just been compared to a Twilight character, I am dead meat.  Or perhaps, if that comparison holds, I am living dead meat).  So, in true angsty teen spirit, and with the weight of my English degree behind me and also with helpful cues from Wikipedia (“The Petrarchan sonnet [also Petrarchanism or Petrarchian] is a verse form that typically refers to a concept of unattainable love”), I present a poem about love 2.0:

I sing a song of love downloaded,
Of my better half, halved, delimbed;
His backlit visage ne’er by these buttons dimmed;
His flattened, framed form by pixels corroded.
This song is of webcams, by an engineer coded;
His arms from which our love once stemmed
Now reduced a dimension, they send his love IMs,
And instead of him, mine hold a laptop unfolded.
I sing a song of love across miles,
Across oceans and countries, and exotic routes;
Too far for touch, near enough for talking.
This love is stretched on air and wires,
Enriched and reduced by Google’s pursuits,
Kept alive by heart and by Facebook stalking.

Neverminding that Edward Cullen is not a bard, and that Shakespeare is not Petrarch, I think this is a pretty accurate representation of what's going on here.

 

12 responses to “I Sing a Song of Love Downloaded

  1. Engineers wouldn’t “code” a webcam. What do you think about ‘codecs’ instead of ‘webcam’? that even gives a nice alliteration. That might be too nerdy though; future students of shakeslori will have to look at the endnotes to understand it.

  2. I was suggesting you replace webcams with codecs, since an engineer would ‘code’ a codec. But I see that’s not what you meant anyway. That’s what you get for trying to mess with an english major

    • Right, right, I understand, I was just hoping you’d overlook that I’m clearly dabbling in areas that don’t concern me, and appreciate that you practically got a shout-out in a love poem to Joe.

  3. Related posts “10 songs perfect for the New Moon soundtrack”

    You two are dorks…per se 😉

    • Takes one to know one, Jer. Oh, speaking of which, I’ve been listening to the Tolkien Professor on iTunes U… might be a fun thing to listen to on your drive to AR. (I assume you’re driving?)

  4. I’d say that sonnet makes up for being #6 on your list of things you’re thankful for. And being compared to a Twilight character.

  5. ‘Tis ne’er e’er o’er my lo’er o’ clo’er.
    I herly berly on the girly whirly!!
    SHAKESPEARED!!

  6. You are the Michelangelo of Photo Shop.

Leave a Reply

